Wednesday, 25 October 2017

2016 National Greyhound Awards

Double win for Jaytee Jet at the National Greyhound Racing Awards

The National Greyhound Racing Awards were held on Sunday 22 October in the Killashee Hotel in Co. Kildare. The event was kindly sponsored by Galway Crystal in its tenth consecutive year. A previous winner of the Easter Cup and English Derby, Jaytee Jet almost stole the show after taking home the awards for Dog of the Year and Supreme Greyhound of the Year.

Witches Belle faced off strong competition from Holycross Leah and Sidarian Pearl to collect the Bitch of the Year honour for owners Liam and Edel Twomey. Airmount Tess got the award as Stayer of the Year while Ballymac Bigmike & Scarlet earned a double honour for Liam Dowling as Sprinter and Brood Bitch of the Year respectively.

The Future Star went to Droopys Wilbury and the Stud Dog award went to Droopys Scolari, over Headbound and Kinloch Brae. Francie Murray, a trainer based near Mullingar, received the Hall of Fame award. The Special Merit award honoured Jim Russell, while Tara Fitzpatrick, racing enthusiast and founder of All About Greyhounds, a Belfast re-homing agency, was the awardee for Greyhound Welfare.

Phil Meaney, Chairman of the IGB commented “I wish to congratulate all finalists and winners for their achievements. The high standard of quality across all categories is evidence of the commitment and passion that exists within the Irish Greyhound Industry. I wish to thank Minister Andrew Doyle TD for presenting the awards and for the continued support of Government for the greyhound sector.”

No comments:

Post a Comment